Saturday, May 23, 2009

Northwest High School Film Festival Honors BHS Producers

Students from the Ballard High School Video Production Program won 13 awards and honors at the 11th annual Northwest High School Film Festival at Shoreline Community College on May 19. This is the largest and longest running festival for high school filmmakers in the Puget Sound region. This year 275 productions were entered in the competition from 21 schools. The festival was judged by a panel of 23 industry professionals and college media professors. The event was organized by the Media Educators Excellence Team (MEET) and sponsored by Adobe, Canon, DigiPen, Shoreline Community College, and the Art Institute of Seattle.

BHS productions were honored in seven different categories, reflecting the diverse skills and talents of Ballard’s video students. All the winning productions will be shown on Friday, May 29 at The Showing, a screening of work by students in the BHS Video Production Program. The event begins at 7 p.m. in the BHS auditorium. There is a suggested donation of $5.00.

Ballard’s Northwest High School Film Festival winners:


Comedic Narrative
“The Ring”
Jeremy Eliassen, Dylan Miller

“Half Life Snacks”
Emily Deering, Levi Friedman, Kathryn Van Buren

Music Video
“You Live in Your Head”
Alex Papac, Isaac Sommers, Kathryn Van Buren

News Feature
“Climbing for a Cure”
Kaelan Gilman, Annalee Millar, Will Livesley-O’Neill

Public Service Announcement
David Marangwanda, Justin Taylor, Kathryn Van Buren

“Left Side”
Esther Magasis, Andy Tran, Ryan Zemke


“Seattle Needle Exchange”
Coburn Erskine, William Pierce, Ben Steiner

Dramatic Narrative
“Oragami Tomodachi”
Dana Baumgartner, Esther Magasis, Kritika Mani

“You Got Served”
Emily Deering, Bryce Ellis, Jose Anguiano

Music Video
“A Man has Needs”
Sean Hendricks, Jacob Kutrakun, Matthew Law-Phipps, Tyler Fleming

News Feature
“BHS Volleyball”
Emma Hutchison, Evan Philip, Taylor McGrew

Public Service Announcement
“What are YOU doing?”
Jeremy Eliassen, Suraiya Emdad, Taylor Rubright

“Rough Riders Lacrosse”
Megan Burkland, Mallory Cummins, Maddie Soukup