Wednesday, June 06, 2012


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences gives High School Awards of Excellence to recognize the best in student television production. The regional awards celebrate outstanding work from five Northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Alaska. Entries are judged by the same professional organization that selects Emmy winners, and presented at the Northwest Regional Emmy Awards.

Seven students in the Ballard High School Video Production Program were winners at this year’s event. Ariahna Ghormley (’13), Louis Weissman (’12) & Mackenzie Wright (’13) won for Photography/Editing on their commercial for Crash Landing Pizza. Walker Evans (’13), Elise Neroutsos (’11), James Vitz-Wong (’11) & Same Weller (’13) won the Long Form (Fiction) category for their sinister short The Craft.

This makes the sixth year in a row that students in the Ballard High School Video Production Program have been winners at the event. Five other Ballard High School video productions had also been nominated: two in the Writing category, two in the Public Service Announcement category, and two in the Photography/Editing category (making every nomination in that category a work from the Ballard High School Video Production Program).