Tuesday, June 07, 2016


Students in the Ballard High School Digital Filmmaking Program won four High School Awards of Excellence at the Northwest Emmy Awards on June 4.  Jonny Cechony, Ellie Clarrissimeaux, and PJ Hase won the Short Form Fiction award for their film The Dragon’s Lair.  The Public Service Announcement award went to Elliott Atkinson, Cyrus Ogle and Bailey Wall for Protect Your Hearing.  The students had produced this project for Seattle’s Hearing, Speech & Deafness Center.  The Music Video prize went to Coleman Andersen, PJ Hase and Bergen Johnson for Today, and Best Photographer/Editor went to Miles Andersen, Emily Black, Sophie DeGreen, Jesse Romero and Sho Schrock for Hologram.  Students from the BHS Digital Filmmaking Program led the pack of winners, winning every category in which they had been nominated.  (They had received 13 nominations across the four categories.)  This is the tenth year in a row that Ballard students have been winners at the event, and the fifth straight year they have won the award for Photographer/Editor.        

The Northwest Chapter of theNational Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) presents High School Awards of Excellence to celebrate and promote the most outstanding high school television productions from five Northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska.  The work is adjudicated by Academy members throughout the five-state region. 

Some of the winning productions will be screened at the Ballard Film Festival this Saturday, June 11 at 7 pm in the BHS auditorium.  Tickets are $5 for students and $10 for adults, and will be sold at the door.  To see recent work from the program, visit www.vimeo.com/bhsfilmprogram .