Saturday, May 18, 2013


Students from the Ballard High School Video Production Program won 15 awards and honors across six different categories at the 15th annual Northwest High School Film Festival at the Cinerama Theater in downtown Seattle.  This is the largest and longest running festival for high school filmmakers in the Puget Sound region.  This year 370 productions were entered in the competition from 24 high schools.

Perhaps the biggest prize of the festival is the “J-Dogg” Scholarship.  The award was established in 2011 by the family of Justin Amorratanasuchad, the gifted Ballard High School filmmaker whose career was tragically cut short by an accident during his second year of college.  The memorial scholarship gives upwards of $5,000 each year toward the college education of a festival winner preparing to pursue a degree in film and television production.  This year, the award was presented to BHS Video senior Vann Fulfs.  In the fall, Vann will be studying film production at Columbia College in Chicago – a program ranked by the Hollywood Reporter as one of the best in the world.

The festival was judged by a panel of industry professionals and college media professors.  The event was organized by the Media Educators for Excellence Team (MEET) and sponsored by Adobe, Advanced Broadcast Solutions, the Art Institute of Seattle, Keith Rivers Films, Glazier’s Camera, Key Code Media, and Shoreline Community College.  For more information on the NWHSFF, visit www.nwhsff.weebly,org.
There will be a screening of new work by students in the BHS Video Production Program (including one of this year’s prize-winning shorts) on Thursday, May 23 at 7 p.m. in the BHS auditorium.  Tickets to “The Showing” are $10 for adults and $8 for students and will be sold at the door.

Ballard’s Northwest High School Film Festival winners:


Dramatic Narrative - Suspense
  Vann Fulfs, Bryan Quandt, Jacob Scott 

News Feature
  Viking Robotics
  Ben Fuesel, Bryan Quandt

Public Service Announcement
  The Door
  Liam Moser, Cecilia Orozco-Chavez, Kimi Rutledge


Comedic Narrative
  An Appetite for Knowledge
  Gabe Fabens, Nick Hauger, Lorenzo Rossi

  Great Mimes Think Alike
  Will Slater, Michael Vitz-Wong, Kiana Wyld

  Katie Brostrom, Kelsey Mendenhall, Sara Timmons 

  A Night to Remember
  Isaiah Hoban-Halvorsen, Ana Krafchick, Cooper Rickards

  Deep Down
  Isaiah Hoban-Halvorsen, Kaila Lafferty, Oona Lowe

  My Little Brony
  Vann Fulfs, Brian Quandt, Taylor Martin

Dramatic Narrative
  Eye of the Beholder
  Walker Evans, Isaiah Hoban-Halvorsen, Brian VanWagenen

News Feature
  Ballard Cooks
  Milo Adams, Coleman Anderson, Carlos Caceres Martinez, Leo Pfeifer

  It Takes Balls to Juggle
  Brian Cropp, Lily , Raven Two Feathers

  Know Your Limit
  Joseph Downey, Grace Turnell, Robyn Wrey
  Not Even Once
  Sam Baldwin, Paris Burhen, Brian Cropp, Gabe Tagulao

  Real Nordic Heritage
  Julian Amrine, Joshua Vredevoogd

Thursday, May 09, 2013


Three shorts by ten Ballard High School video students have won two of the major prizes and an Honorable Mention at the Dominique Dunne Film Competition in Colorado Springs.  The competition was one of the first events in the nation to showcase the work of young filmmakers.  It awards only four prizes: two for Documentary, and two for Dramatic Narrative.  Only schools with outstanding film programs were invited to participate, and each school was limited to just four entries. 

Isaiah Hoban-Halversen, Kaila Lafferty & Oona Lowe won Second Prize in the Documentary Category for Deep Down, the story of Alessandro Gilmini’s near-death experience in an ice cave.  In the Dramatic Category, Walker Evans, Elise Neroutsos, Jamie Vitz-Wong & Sam Weller won Second Prize for their sinister short The Craft.  The Honorable Mention went to the suspenseful short Sundown by Vann Fulfs, Bryan Quandt & Jacob Scott.

The students will receive cash prizes for each honor, as well as written critiques from the prestigious jury, including producer Samuel Goldwyn, Jr. (of The Samuel Goldwyn Company and Samuel Goldwyn Films), actor/director Griffin Dunne (An American Werewolf in London, After Hours) and producer/ director/actor Ed Sherin (Law & Order).