Monday, November 14, 2011


Ten shorts by students in the Ballard High School Video Production Program have been identified as “Works of Merit” by the 35th Annual Young People’s Film Festival, a competitive, six-state regional festival coordinated by the Northwest Film Center in Portland. A jury of filmmakers and educators selected 30 works for this distinction from over 150 entries in the Teen Division (grades 9 – 12). The Film Center plans to display these works online.

The ten Ballard works that made the list include visual stories, short digital films, and a music video. Two of them are the first narrative works by students in the intro class of the Video Production Program.

As we announced last month, Nate Sawtell, Dylan Spence, and Louis Weissman have been named winners in the Teen Division for their digital film Safe at Last. The Festival Winners of the Teen Division will be screened this Saturday, November 19 at 1 p.m. at the Film Center’s Whitsell Auditorium (1219 SW Park, Portland, Oregon). Following the screening, there will be a reception and panel discussion for winners and audience members to meet this year's festival jurors.

The winner and several “Works of Merit” will be screened at Ballard High School in a program of new works by BHS video students on Thursday, February 9 or Friday, February 10 at 7 pm in the auditorium. Admission is $10, or $7 for students with an activity pass. All proceeds benefit students in the Video Production Program.

Young People’s Film Festival “Works of Merit” by BHS Video students:

At First Sight
By Vann Fulfs, Alex James, Taylor Martin & John Paul Umbao

By Mia Caron, John Christensen & Alex Johnston

By Brendan Inkley, Cybele Olsen & Nadia Komen

The Craft
By Walker Evans, Elise Neroutsos, Sam Weller & James Vitz-Wong

The Number
By Alex Guettler, Helen Miller & Ana Krafchick

Old House
By Sam Weller, Walker Evans & Kirsten Zeller

Reverie Portal
By Ashleigh Klemetson, David Moore, Blair Scott & Kenji Takada

By Mia Montagna, Elise Neroutsos & Ivy Vance

Truth or Dare
By Liam Halvorsen, Joe Jacobson, Dylan Miller & Ariel Noltimier

Wanna Go Out
By Walker Evans, Sam Weller & Sheridan Koehler