Sunday, June 22, 2014


Five students in the Ballard High School Digital Filmmaking Program won Awards of Excellence at the Northwest Regional Emmy Awards on June 7. Coleman Andersen, Leo Pfeifer and Josh Vredevoogd won best Short Form Fiction for their drama Air Pressure. Julian Amrine and Josh Vredevoogd won best Photographer/Editor for their drama Going it Alone. This is the third year in a row that these awards went to students from the BHS Digital Filmmaking Program.

The Northwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) presents High School Awards of Excellence to celebrate and promote the most outstanding high school productions from five Northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. The awards are judged by the same professional organization that selects Emmy winners.

Eighteen other BHS filmmakers had also received nominations from the Academy this year.

Sunday, June 01, 2014


Everyone is invited to a screening of films produced spring semester by students in the Ballard High School Digital Filmmaking Program. The BHS Film Festival will be Friday, June 6 and Saturday, June 7 at 7 p.m. in the BHS auditorium. Included will be short comedies, dramas, news features, and documentaries. Tickets are $10 for adults and $5 for students and will be sold at the door. All proceeds benefit students in the Digital Filmmaking Program.

The festival will feature a variety of productions recently honored by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences as well as international film festivals such as the Chicago International Film Festival and the Seattle International Film Festival. In addition, program alumni will return to share their stories and work they've produced in college or during their professional careers.