Sunday, June 22, 2014


Five students in the Ballard High School Digital Filmmaking Program won Awards of Excellence at the Northwest Regional Emmy Awards on June 7. Coleman Andersen, Leo Pfeifer and Josh Vredevoogd won best Short Form Fiction for their drama Air Pressure. Julian Amrine and Josh Vredevoogd won best Photographer/Editor for their drama Going it Alone. This is the third year in a row that these awards went to students from the BHS Digital Filmmaking Program.

The Northwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) presents High School Awards of Excellence to celebrate and promote the most outstanding high school productions from five Northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. The awards are judged by the same professional organization that selects Emmy winners.

Eighteen other BHS filmmakers had also received nominations from the Academy this year.