Sunday, May 31, 2009


Seven productions by Ballard High School video students won honors at the regional Emmy Awards on Saturday, May 30. The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (the professional organization that judges the Emmy Awards) gives the National Student Television Awards to recognize the best in student television production. The regional awards celebrate the most outstanding productions from five northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Alaska. This makes the third year in a row that Ballard High School video production students have been winners at the event.

Levi Friedman, Jacob Kutrakun & Ryan Zemke won an Award of Excellence in the Craft Achievement category for Don’t Spill, a Public Service Announcement they produced for the Puget Sound Blood Center. In the Public Affairs category, Kaelan Gilman, Annalee Millar & Will Livesley-O’Neill won an Award of Excellence for Climbing for a Cure, a piece about a climb to the top of the Columbia Tower to raise money in the fight against leukemia.

Five Ballard High School productions received Honorable Mentions (the equivalent of Emmy Nominations). Honored in the Dramatic Presentation category were The Umbrella by Parker Davis, Kaelan Gilman & Henry Shenk; and You Got Served by Jose Anguiano, Emily Deering & Bryce Ellis. Left Side by Esther Magasis, Andy Tran & Ryan Zemke was honored in the Documentary category, and in the Public Affairs category Cops by John Barnes & Nicole Bowns was honored, as well as Seattle Needle Exchange by Coburn Erskine, Will Pierce & Ben Steiner.