Saturday, October 08, 2016


When the envelopes were opened at the Newseum in Washington D.C. on Oct. 4, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced two films by students in Ballard High School’s Digital Filmmaking Program as winners of National Student Production Awards.  The films were judged by members of the Academy, as well as college media professors.

Winning the prize for best Music Video was Today, by Coleman Andersen, PJ Hase & Bergen Johnson.  The prize for best Editing went to Miles Andersen, Emily Black, Sophie DeGreen, Jesse Romero & Sho Schrock for their work on Hologram.  Both films can be viewed on the Digital Filmmaking Program’s vimeo page at .

Students from the Ballard High School Digital Filmmaking Program have frequently won Student Production Awards from the Academy in the five-state Northwest Region, but this is the first year that a national level of adjudication has been added.  Also nominated at the national level was The Dragon’s Lair by PJ Hase, Jonny Cechony & Ellie Clarrissimeaux.  It was nominated for best Short Form Fiction.  The awards presentation can be viewed at  For more information, visit .

All of Ballard’s honored productions had their premiere at the Ballard Film Festival (BFF).  The next BFF will be on Friday, February 10 at 7 pm in the BHS auditorium.  Tickets are $5 for students and $10 for adults, and will be sold at the door.