Sunday, September 11, 2016


Students in the Ballard High School Digital Filmmaking Program won 12 awards and honors across six different categories at the 18th annual Northwest High School Film Festival on May 17th at the Cinerama Theater in downtown Seattle.  This is the largest and longest running festival for high school filmmakers in the Puget Sound region.  Twenty-five high schools competed for awards in twelve different production categories.

The festival is judged by a panel of industry professionals and college media professors.  In addition to awarding films, they identify promising filmmakers for college scholarships.  This year, BHS film students Miles Andersen, Emily Black, Sophie DeGreen and Jesse Romero all received $5,000 scholarship offers from The Seattle Film Institute.  Leo Pfeifer won the “J-Dogg” Scholarship.  This scholarship was established in memory of Justin Ammoratanasuchad, a talented young filmmaker who lost his life in a tragic accident while shooting a film in Boston.  The J-Dogg Scholarship will follow Leo to the film program of his choice, and can provide up to $5,000 every year.  

The festival was organized by the Media Educators Excellence Team (MEET), an inter-district organization of high school media production teachers.  Sponsors included The Seattle Film Institute, Adobe, the Cinerama Theatre, Highline Community College, and Vulcan Enterprises.  For more information on the NWHSFF, visit .

All the awarded productions from BHS initially had their premiere at the Ballard Film Festival (BFF).  This event screens new films by BHS Digital Filmmaking students at the end of every semester.  The next BFF will be Friday, February 10 at 7 pm.  Tickets are $5 for students and $10 for adults and will be sold at the door.
Here are Ballard’s Northwest High School Film Festival winners by category:

Comedic Narrative
  The Dragon’s Lair
  Jonny Cechony, Ellie Clarrissimeaux & PJ Hase

Music Video
  Miles Andersen, Emily Black, Sophie DeGreen, Jesse Romero & Sho Schrock

News/Sports Feature
  In the Ring with the Ratio
  Ella Andersen, Caleb Flynn & Ilsa O’Rollins

Satire & Parody
  Escape the Cliches
  Percy Boyle & Leo Pfeifer

Comedic Narrative
  Criminal Design
  Miles Anderson, Jonathan Bowers, Jonny Cechony, PJ Hase & Cecilia O’Rollins  
  My Hero
  David Knoblach, Cecilia O’Rollins, Olga Schulteis & Gabriella Strommen  

Dramatic Narrative
  Rachel Cole, Jaya Flanary & Meagen Tajalle

Music Video
  Big Coat
  Jaya Flanary, Duncan Gowdy & Leo Pfeifer

  Coleman Andersen, PJ Hase & Bergen Johnson

  Aurore Bouriot, Jonathan Bowers, Brian Cropp & Jake Rehfeldt    

Public Service Announcement
  Too Much of a Good Thing
  Maya Konz, Jesse Romero & Oscar White

   What Lies Ahead
   Jaya Flanary, Meagen Tajalle & Grace Turnell