Sunday, June 02, 2013


The Northwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced nominees for the Northwest High School Awards of Excellence.  These awards celebrate the most outstanding productions from five Northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska.  Productions are nominated by NATAS industry professionals.  Students from the Ballard High School Video Production Program earned eight nominations.  The winners will be announced on June 15 at the 50th Annual Regional Emmy Awards ceremony.  

Ballard’s nominations span four categories, reflecting the diverse skills students learn in the program.  These are the nominations by category. 

Community/Public Service Announcements:
  Anti-Littering by Tristram Fetters, DJ McCoy & Sage Borlo

  Not Even Once by Sam Baldwin, Paris Burhen, Brian Cropp & Gabriel Tagulao

Long-Form, Fiction:
  Godsend by DJ McCoy

Long-Form, Non-Fiction:
  Impact by Kenton King, Jacob Scott & Mackenzie Wright

  My Little Brony by Vann Fulfs, Taylor Martin & Bryan Quandt

  Dream House by Ariahna Ghormley, Ana Krafchick & Louis Weissman

  Nordic Heritage Museum by Julian Amrine & Joshua Vredevoogd

  Sundown by Vann Fulfs, Bryan Quandt & Jacob Scott

This makes the seventh year in a row that Ballard High School video producers have been nominated.  Last year they received 7 nominations and won the categories of Long Form, Fiction and Photographer/Editor.