Wednesday, May 18, 2011


Nine productions by students in the Ballard High School Video Production Program have been nominated for NATAS Northwest High School Awards of Excellence. The Northwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (the professional organization that gives the Emmy awards) presents these awards to honor the best in student television production. These regional awards celebrate the most outstanding productions from five northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Alaska. The winners will be announced at the 48th Annual Northwest Regional Emmy Awards on June 11th.

Ballard’s nominations span four categories, showing the quality and diversity of our producers. These are the nominations by category.

Public Affairs:
Faces by Dana Baumgartner, Emma Hutchison & Chloe Warner-Moyer

Without Our Cars by Sydney Jarol, Dylan Miller & Ryan Zemke

Henry by Amelia Elizalde, Sheridan Koehler, Levi Friedman & Sean Hendricks

Long Form, Non-Fiction:
Bar Ink by Spencer Miller, Georgia Peck, Robyn Cochrane & Justin Smith-Mercado

Seattle Street Performers by Tony Meyer, James Vitz-Wong & Matt Law-Phipps

Split Mind by Rikke Heinecke, Blair Scott, John Christensen & Allie Stock

Long-Form, Fiction:
Buy, Sell, Trade by Emily Deering, Amelia Elizalde & Blair Scott

Public Service Announcement:
Plenty of Road by Brendan Inkley, Stephen Neu-Yagle & Dylan Spence

Share the Road: Sidewalk by Elise Neroutsos & Ivy Vance

The nominees were selected by industry professionals in the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. This makes the fifth year in a row that Ballard High School video producers have been nominated. Last year they received 6 nominations and won awards in the categories of Public Service Announcement and Dramatic Presentation.

BHS video students will present new works completed this semester at The Showing on Friday, June 10 at 7 pm in the BHS auditorium. Tickets are $8 and will be sold at the door.