Tuesday, June 15, 2010


Two productions by Ballard High School video students were winners at the 47th Annual Northwest Regional Emmy Awards on Saturday, June 5. Loose Change by Emma Hutchison, Georgia Peck & Alex Scheller, won in the Public Service Announcement category, and The Crumb by Emily Deering, Karli Lafferty, Sarah Maloney & Taylor Rubright won in the Dramatic Presentation category.

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences gives student awards to recognize the best in student television production. The regional awards celebrate outstanding productions from five northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Alaska. This makes the fourth year in a row that students in the Ballard High School Video Production Program have been winners at the event.

Four other Ballard High School video productions had also been nominated. Dead End by Emma Hutchison, Kaila Lafferty, Karli Lafferty & Kirsten Zeller, Manimal by Levi Friedman, Matt Law-Phipps, Esther Magasis & Ryan Zemke, and Reflection by Sheridan Koehler & Blair Scott were nominees in the Dramatic Presentation category. Swine Flu Apocalypse by John Christensen, Conner Jarvie & Matt Law-Phipps was a nominee in the Public Service Announcement category. For more information on the NATAS student television awards, visit www.natasnw.org.