Sunday, May 25, 2008

Emmy Organization Nominates BHS Video Students

Two productions by Ballard High School video students have been nominated for National Student Television Awards at the regional level. The awards are a project of the National Association of Television Arts & Sciences (the professional organization that gives the Emmy Awards) and honor the best in student television production. The regional awards celebrate the most outstanding productions from five northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Alaska. The winners will be honored at the 45th Annual Northwest Regional Emmy Awards on June 7th.

The nominees are Will Livesley-O’Neill, Evangeline Spracklin & Ben Steiner for “The End is Near”, and Justin Amorratanasuchad, Mike Hipp & Devan Sizemore for “Spaced Out”. Both narrative shorts are nominated in the Writing category. They will be screened at The Showing on Friday, May 30th at 7 pm in the BHS auditorium. Admission is free, but there is a suggested donation of $5.

Last year, Ballard High School video students received two nominations. The narrative short “Bittersweet” by Coburn Erskine, Becca Rice, Devan Sizemore & George Westberg won the Writing award, and “Ave Rats” by Clinton Carucci, Ian McKagan & Mixtli Zavaleta received an Honorable Mention in the Documentary category.